New York City

Former Brooklyn BP Marty Markowitz joins Speaker Mark-Viverito’s transition team

January 28, 2014 By Mary Frost Brooklyn Daily Eagle
Share this:

New York City Council Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito announced a transition committee on Tuesday filled with notable names, including former Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz and former Council Member Una Clarke, mother of Congresswoman Yvette Clarke.

Besides Markowitz, two other former borough presidents have joined Mark-Viverito’s team: Queens BP Helen Marshall and Manhattan BP C. Virginia Fields.

Ms. Clarke and Rossana Rosado, former editor of El Diario, will co-chair the committee.

The volunteer committee will help Mark-Viverito put together “an experienced and progressive team as she begins her term as Speaker,” she said in a press release. The 33 transition team members “hail from all over New York City, come from a diverse array of fields and will seek out resumes of qualified individuals from a wide range of communities and sectors.”

News for those who live, work and play in Brooklyn and beyond

The committee also includes Jose Calderon, president of the Hispanic Federation; Kevin Finnegan, political director of the SEIU 1199 healthcare workers union; and gay rights activist Allen Roskoff, a harsh critic of former Speaker Christine Quinn.

Speaker Mark-Viverito’s transition team:


Dr. Una Clarke, Co-Chair – Former NYC Council Member, 40th District, Brooklyn
Rossana Rosado, Co-Chair – Former Editor, El Diario

Committee Members

Noilyn Abesamis-Mendoza – Dir., Health Programs, Coalition for Asian American Children & Families

Cira Angeles – President, LA Riverside Brokerage, Inc.

Ana Maria Archila – Co-Executive Director, Center for Popular Democracy

Don Mario Bosco – Counsel, Bosco, Ward & Nopar

Jose Calderon – President, Hispanic Federation

John Calvelli – Executive Vice President, Public Affairs, Bronx Zoo

Frank Carone – Partner, Abrams, Fensterman, Fensterman, Eisman, Formato, Ferrara & Wolf, LLP

Daniel Cassella – President, ATU Local 726

Humberto Cruz – Former Director, AIDS Institute of the New York State Department of Health

Francisco Diaz, Jr. – President, Los Higos Del Barrio HDFC

Soraya Elcock – Former Vice President for Strategic Initiatives, Harlem United

C. Virginia Fields – President & CEO, National Black Leadership Commission on AIDS

Kevin Finnegan – Political Director, SEIU 1199

Jennifer Hensley – Executive Director, Association for a Better New York

Jacqueline Huey – Former. Sr. Director of Revenue and Management, NYC HHC

Virginia Kee – Founding member, Chinese American Planning Council

Victor Kovner, Esq.  – Partner, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

Hoong Yee Lee Krakauer – Executive Director, Queens Council of the Arts

Jenny Low – District Leader, 65th Assembly District

Marty Markowitz – Former Brooklyn Borough President

Devin Maroney – Deputy Political Director, New York Hotel and Motel Trades Council

Helen Marshall – Former Queens Borough President

Shahana Masum – Director, Bangladeshi American Advocacy Group

Brette McSweeney – Executive Director, Eleanor’s Legacy

Suki Terada Ports – Former Executive Director, Family Health Project

Félix V. Matos Rodriguez – President, Hostos Community College

Allen Roskoff – LGBT Community Activist

Natalia Salgado – Deputy Political Director, 32BJ SEIU

Melissa Sklarz – Director, New York Trans Rights Coalition

Udai Tambar – Director, South Asian Youth Action

Javier Valdes – Co-Executive Director, Make the Road, NY

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment