Columbian Lawyers Association holds annual dinner dance

June 18, 2013 By Rob Abruzzese Brooklyn Daily Eagle
Screen Shot 2013-06-18 at 12.55.18 PM.png
Share this:

The Columbian Lawyers Association of Brooklyn held its 45th Annual Installation Dinner Dance to honor outgoing President Bruno Codispoti and to welcome incoming President Robert Musso at El Caribe in Mill Basin on Friday.

“Bruno brought unbridled energy and tremendous enthusiasm to the office of the president and he maintained that through adversity,” Past President Steven Bamundo said of Codispoti. “It was his upbeat and positive attitude that got us through the past year and ensured our presence among the bar leaders.”

The adversity Bamundo was referring to was the loss of Hon. Anthony J. Cutrona, who passed on Jan. 16 and was called “The Heart and Soul” of the Columbian Lawyers association, as well as the loss of fellow Past President Edward S. Bosek, who passed on April 1.

Subscribe to our newsletters

“Judge Cutrona was our rock, our lighthouse, and even though he’s no longer with us that light still shines bright,” Codispoti said.

When Codispoti spoke at the podium he said that coping with the passing of these two influential men was “a rollercoaster ride.” He explained how the tragedies kept him from accomplishing all the goals he set out to, but noted that throughout the difficulties, the association kept its spirits up and continued its rich traditions. 

Codispoti also spoke highly of Musso and offered him just one piece of advice: “Call Dominic Famulari. He’s the best.”

Musso spoke at great length about Cutrona and Bosek, and mentioned that he wants to start a college scholarship for student athletes in Cutrona’s name. “Many people don’t know this about him, but Cutrona played football at Villanova,” Musso said. 

Along with Musso, who was sworn in as the association’s newest president, Bartholomew T. Russo was named first Vice President, RoseAnn C. Branda the second VP, Dean G. Delianties the third VP, Mark A. Longo is the new Treasurer, Linda LoCascio the Corresponding Secretary, Hon. Frank R. Seddio the Recording Secretary, George J. Siracuse the Historian, and Msgr. David L. Cassato the Chaplain.

New members of the Board of Directors include Jane Carbonaro Arrabito, Stefano Filippazzo, and Joseph S. Rosato. They join existing board members Gianna M. Famulari, Ben Bartolota, Grace M. Borrino, Susanne Gennusa, Mark J. Caruso, and Ralph Marra.

As part of the ceremony, Cutrona’s wife, Bosek’s wife, Codispoti’s wife, and Musso’s wife were presented with flowers. The association will also be making a donation to Cutrona’s favorite charity, the Brothers of the Christian Schools.

The Frank J. Pino Award, given out by the association once a year during the dinner, was not given out this year. Instead it will be given out next year and will be renamed the Anthony J. Cutrona Award.


Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment