Chief Judge Rowan Wilson to address NYS Bar Association pro bono honorees on Law Day

Brooklyn's Annette Saviet among President's pro bono award recipients

April 28, 2023 Rob Abruzzese
Share this:

New Chief Judge Rowan Wilson will get his first opportunity to speak publicly since being confirmed as the State’s top judge at a New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) Law Day Ceremony next week.

At the events, the NYSBA will honor attorneys with exceptional commitment to serving the public good during the 32nd Annual President’s Pro Bono Service Awards. The ceremony is scheduled for 1 p.m. on May 1 at the association’s headquarters in Albany.

“It is fitting that each year on Law Day, we present the President’s Pro Bono Service Awards to honor the attorneys, law students, law firms, and justice programs that have provided extraordinary pro bono service,” said President Sherry Levin Wallach.

Attorneys providing pro bono services across a range of causes, including LGBTQ+ rights, fair housing, family law and immigrant rights, will be recognized. The ceremony’s highlight will be the keynote address by Judge Rowan Wilson.

This year’s Law Day event will also feature Michael Freer, a British Under Secretary of State for the Ministry of Justice. Levin Wallach said, “It is a historical moment because it is the first time that an international delegation of bar leaders has joined us for this event.”


Annette Saviet: Second Judicial District

Among this year’s President’s Pro Bono Award recipients is Annette Saviet from Brooklyn. Saviet, who retired as a principal appellate attorney for the Appellate Term, Second Department in 2021, previously worked as a staff attorney at The Legal Aid Society of Rockland County for eight years. In her retirement, she continues to volunteer for the organization.

In addition to Saviet, the President’s Pro Bono Award recipients this year include Andrew Kissner from the First Judicial District (Manhattan), Jonathan P. Whalen from the Third Judicial District, Martin S. Finn from the Fourth Judicial District, Jennifer Powell from the Fifth Judicial District, Katherine A. Fitzgerald from the Sixth Judicial District, Carolyn Nussbaum from the Seventh Judicial District, Ivan O. Kline from the Ninth Judicial District, Jeannie M. Henry from the Tenth Judicial District, Stephen David Fink from the Eleventh Judicial District, Kristen Woll as the Young Attorney recipient, Eileen Katz as the Senior Attorney recipient, and Felicia Gaon as the Law Student recipient.

Other honorees include Albany Law School OUTLaw Group as the Law School Group, Arthur J. Siegel in the In-House Counsel category, Serotte Law as the Small Law Firm, Hodgson Russ as the Mid-sized Law Firm, and Cleary Gottlieb Steen and Hamilton as the Large Law Firm. Finally, Dorian Glover receives the Attorney Professionalism Award.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment