Richmond County DA Michael McMahon sworn in as president of DAASNY

July 2, 2024 Robert Abruzzese, Courthouse Editor
Richmond County District Attorney Michael McMahon speaks at the DAASNY Summer Conference after being sworn in as President. Photo courtesy of DAASNY
Share this:

The District Attorneys Association of the State of New York (DAASNY) installed Richmond County District Attorney Michael McMahon as president during its annual Summer Conference. McMahon, who has served as DAASNY president since April 2024, expressed his gratitude and commitment to leading the association.

“I am proud to continue in the role of president of the District Attorneys Association of the State of New York, and I am immensely grateful for the trust placed in me by my colleagues from across the state,” said President McMahon, “I continue to be astounded by the encouragement and support I receive in leading this organization. I remain privileged and honored to serve alongside all the dedicated prosecutors and staff across our state, who work tirelessly every day to pursue justice and to make our communities safer.”

Also sworn in were these executive Board members: Rensselaer County District Attorney Mary Pat Donnelly, Ontario County District Attorney James Ritts, Suffolk County District Attorney Raymond Tierney and Nassau County District Attorney Anne Donnelly.

The conference, held in Bolton Landing, New York, was attended by more than 100 district attorneys and their executive staff. Discussions focused on challenges with recruitment and retention, discovery compliance, prosecutorial ethics, and training. 

“Changes to our discovery and bail laws, Raise the Age, and struggles in retaining talented staff and keeping up with technological changes have changed the way District Attorney’s offices operate every day,” McMahon said. “I value the times when we come together and discuss common priorities and needs and engage in productive conversations.”

During the conference, the New York Prosecutors Training Institute presented its Prosecutor of the Year Awards. This year’s recipients included Kerriann Kelly, Major Crimes Bureau chief, Suffolk County; Eryck Kratville, co-bureau chief, Special Investigations and chief of the Heroin Interdiction Team for the Office of the New York City Special Narcotics Prosecutor; and Joseph Cardone, Orleans County district attorney.

DAASNY, founded in 1909, represents the elected and appointed prosecutors of New York State’s 62 district attorney’s offices and other prosecutorial agencies. Its mission is to promote justice on behalf of the people of New York State by supporting the professional development of its members and enhancing the criminal justice system.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment