Brooklyn Bar honors Judge Quinones and Chidekel during annual meeting

May 17, 2023 Rob Abruzzese
Share this:

The Brooklyn Bar Association (BBA) held its annual meeting in Brooklyn Heights on May 10, during which it presented its Bridge to Diversity Awards to Hon. Joanne Quinones and past president David Chidekel for their commitment to diversity and their work with the BBA.

Named after Lynn Terrelonge, the first Black president in the BBA’s history, the Bridge to Diversity Award celebrates those who champion diversity within the legal profession.

David Chidekel, a top trial lawyer and past president of the BBA, was recognized for his work in the Kings County legal community and his efforts in establishing the BBA’s Diversity Committee, now run by Joy Thompson and Kwok Kei Ng.

From left: Charles Small, David Chidekel, and President Richard Klass.
From left: Kwok Kei Ng, Hon. Joanne Quinones, and Joy Thompson.

Known for his research and oratorical skills, Chidekel’s unique career trajectory – from musician to healthcare entrepreneur, to nursing home operator, and then to law – and his commitment to addressing societal inequities in court was highlighted.

Hon. Joanne Quinones, known for her advocacy for diversity and mentorship, was also honored. Currently chairing the Franklin H. Williams Judicial Commission on Racial and Ethnic Fairness in the Courts’ Judicial Mentor Program, Quinones has played a crucial role in promoting mentorship and diverse membership within the bar.

Born and raised in Brooklyn, Quinones has a distinguished career in law, from a staff attorney at The Legal Aid Society to her current role as an Acting Supreme Court Justice in the Kings County Supreme Court. She has served as president of both the Latino Judges Association and the Brooklyn Women’s Bar Association and is actively involved in numerous legal organizations.

The BBA also announced the results of its annual elections during the meeting. As expected, Joseph Rosato will officially assume the role of president in June, with his installation ceremony to take place on June 14 at Borough Hall.

Bruno Codispoti, a distinguished business attorney and founder of Codispoti & Associates, P.C., was announced as the next treasurer. Codispoti has a remarkable reputation in the legal community and has served as the past president of both the Columbian Lawyers Association of Brooklyn and the Columbian Lawyers Association of Rockland County. He is also the Chair of the Intellectual Property Committee at the BBA. In addition to his legal practice, Codispoti is the President of Catasal Realty, LLC.

From left: Hon. Mark Partnow, Hon. Lawrence Knipel, Hon. David Vaughn, Salvatore Scibetta, president of the Columbian Lawyers Association of Brooklyn, and Bruno Codispoti.

Other newly appointed officers of the BBA include Anthony Vaughn, Jr., as president-elect; Christina Golkin as the first vice president; Daniel Antonelli as the second vice president; and Angelicque Moreno as secretary. The new trustees include Imran Ansari, Grace Borrino, Andrea Caruso, Adam Kalish, Daniel Miller, Joy Thompson, and Joseph Vasile.

From left: Natoya McGhie, Xavier Carr, David Chidekel, Armena Gayle, and Betsey Jean-Jacques, president of the Catholic Lawyers Guild of Kings County.
From left: Hon. Mark Partnow, Hon. Lawrence Knipel, Hon. David Vaughn, Salvatore Scibetta, president of the Columbian Lawyers Association of Brooklyn, and Bruno Codispoti.
Steven Richman (left) and Hon. Fidel Del Valle.
Andrea Bonina and Adam Kalish.
Gregory Cerchione (left) and Hon. Frank Seddio.
From left: Joseph Rosato, Jason Friedman, Dewey Golkin, and Richard Klass.
From left: Hon. Jeffrey Sunshine, Hemalee Patel, and Hon. Nancy Sunshine.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment