Brooklyn Nets owners receive 2022 Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Medal

Jon Batiste, Clara Wu Tsai and Joe Tsai, and Earl D. Weiner honored in Williamsburg

November 10, 2022 Brooklyn Eagle Staff
Share this:

WILLIAMSBURG — The Municipal Art Society of New York (MAS) presented the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Medal, the organization’s highest honor, to Jon Batiste, Nets owners Clara Wu Tsai & Joe Tsai, and Earl D. Weiner on Wednesday night. The medals were presented at a  celebration held at Weylin, located at 175 Broadway in Williamsburg.

“Although MAS’s advocacy takes place in all five boroughs, this is the first time the Jacqueline  Kennedy Onassis Medal has been presented outside Manhattan,” said MAS President Elizabeth  Goldstein. “We were delighted to gather in a borough that has been the site of so much of our  honorees’ work, shining a light on their immense collective impact on our city.”  

Honorees Jon Batiste, Clara Wu Tsai & Joe Tsai, and Earl D. Weiner were joined by an array of  friends, fans, and colleagues, including Elissa Black, Ron Blaylock & Petra Pope, Gabriel  Calatrava, Lisa & Dick Cashin, CaSandra Diggs, Jennifer Eisenstadt, Regina Myer, Maria Nicanor,  Enuma Okoro, Bruce Ratner & Linda Johnson, Janet Ross, Shanta Thake, Carla Shen, Betsy Smith  & Rick Cotton, Yeohlee Teng, and Henry Timms.  

Subscribe to our newsletters

Earl D. Weiner (center) poses with MAS’ Co-Chairs Christy MacLear and Richard Olcott. Photo courtesy of MAS

The event raised nearly $1 million to support MAS in its mission of lifting up the voices of the  people in the debates that shape New York’s built environment and leading the way toward a  more livable city from sidewalk to skyline. Founded in 1893, MAS was instrumental in key battles that have shaped the future of New York.  

The site of the original Williamsburgh Savings Bank, 175 Broadway was built by renowned  architect George B. Post in 1875 with iconic interiors designed by Peter B. Wright. In 2014, it  completed an extensive restoration and reopened as an event space under the name Weylin.  Following the celebration, guests enjoyed drinks and dancing at the 1875 Bar, the building’s speakeasy-style cocktail space. This annual gathering known as the After Dark Party is hosted by  the MAS Urbanists, a member group of early to mid-career professionals.  

The Medal is awarded annually to individuals who, through vision, leadership, and  philanthropy, have made a lasting contribution to New York City. The Medal was established in  1994 to honor Mrs. Onassis, her passionate efforts to preserve great architecture in New York  City, and her remarkable partnership with the Municipal Art Society over nearly two decades— including the campaign that saved Grand Central Terminal from demolition.

In this photo provided by DKC News, Clara Wu Tsai, co-owner of the Brooklyn Nets, stands in front of the Barclays Center. Ivy Newman/DKC News via AP

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment