Brooklyn Boro

Four added to the bench in Brooklyn, Supreme Court incumbents remain

Justice Thompson wins Surrogate’s Court election

November 7, 2018 By Rob Abruzzese, Legal Editor Brooklyn Daily Eagle
Hon. Harriet Thompson will officially be Brooklyn’s next Surrogate Court judge. Eagle photo by Mario Belluomo
Share this:

Brooklyn will have four new judges after three attorneys running in district races were elected Tuesday night and another running in a county-wide race officially won her election as well.

Hon. Harriet Thompson was officially voted in to the Surrogate’s Court and the seven incumbent judges running for re-election, Hon. Sylvia Hinds-Radix, Hon. Michelle Weston, Hon. Eric Prus, Hon. Wayne Saitta, Hon. Ingrid Joseph, Hon. Lisa Ottley and Hon. Devin Cohen, all won on Tuesday night as well.

In the county-wide race for Civil Court Judge, incumbent judge Loren Baily won re-election with 446,682 votes and Rupert V. Barry also won with 366,167 votes. They beat Conservative challenger Vincent F. Martusciello, who only received 53,913 votes.

News for those who live, work and play in Brooklyn and beyond

In the Kings County 1st Municipal District, Anne Swern, who received 56,017 votes, won with no challenger; Jill Epstein received 75,190 votes to win the 4th District without a challenger; and Gina Levy won the 8th District with 50,188 votes and also had no challenger.

None of the seven judges who won re-election in the Supreme Court, Second Judicial District, received much of a challenge. Justice Saitta was the only one who didn’t run on both the Democratic and Republic lines so he was replaced on the ballot by Anthony R. Caccamo as a Republican candidate. Caccamo received 72,591 votes which fell far short of the 364,352 votes Justice Prus received in 7th place.

Douglass Seidman, Angharad Vaughan and Debra Brown were also on the ballot as Supreme Court challengers, but none came close to winning with Brown topping out at 70,047 votes.


Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment