Dilan, Hamilton, Parker join Senate Committee on Technology

January 20, 2017 By Paula Katinas Brooklyn Daily Eagle
State Sen. Martin Malavé Dilan says his membership on the Senate Select Committee on Technology and Innovation is “an incredibly exciting opportunity for me and the constituents of the 18th Senate District.” Eagle file photo by Paula Katinas
Share this:

A newly minted state Senate committee focusing on the fast growing field of technology boasts three members from Brooklyn.

State Sens. Martin Malavé Dilan, Jesse Hamilton (D-Crown Heights) and Kevin Parker (D-Flatbush) are now members of the Senate Select Committee on Technology and Innovation, an 11-member panel that will work to support the development of technology-related businesses across New York state. 

The committee’s goals will include shaping new policies to strengthen the state’s technology, creating jobs by increasing access to technology programs and anticipating future needs in the technology sector. Committee members will be collaborating with state agencies and outside groups to open up new opportunities for veterans, disabled individuals, minorities and women.

“This is an incredibly exciting opportunity for me and the constituents of the 18th Senate District,” Dilan (D-Bushwick-parts of Williamsburg) said in a statement. “Brooklyn is well-represented in the fields of technology and innovation. I welcome the opportunity to give our startups and new technologies a voice in the larger movement to share their ingenuity and experience throughout the state and beyond socioeconomic divides.  I look forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the aisle in this endeavor.”

Subscribe to our newsletters

The committee’s chairman is state Sen. George A. Amedore Jr. (R-Rotterdam).  In addition to Dilan, Hamilton and Parker, the panel’s members include: state Sens. Elaine Phillips (R-Manhasset); Chris Jacobs (R-Buffalo); Thomas Croci (R- Sayville); James L. Seward (R- Oneonta); Patty Ritchie (R-Heuvelton); Brad Hoylman (D-Manhattan); and Toby Ann Stavisky (D- Flushing). 


Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment