Brooklyn Boro

Tuesday is Primary Election Day in New York: Who’s running in Brooklyn?

Voters to choose candidates running for Senate, Assembly, judgeships

September 12, 2016 By Mary Frost Brooklyn Daily Eagle
Polls for today's primary are open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Photo by Mary Frost
Share this:

Registered voters will be able to cast their ballots in Tuesday’s primary, where they will select their party’s candidates for the general election in November. Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Since most Brooklyn residents are registered Democrats, Tuesday’s vote will determine the results of many positions in the general election.

The deadline to register for this primary (or change your party affiliation) has passed. However, now is the time to register for the general election, or re-register if your name was one of thousands removed from the list of registered voters in last April’s Board of Elections snafu.

Subscribe to our newsletters

Many voters in the Brooklyn Heights area have had their polling place moved to Urban Assembly High School on the east side of Adams Street, since the Brooklyn Heights Library has been closed for development.

A group of seniors who live at 10 Clinton St. told the Brooklyn Eagle last month that they wouldn’t be able to make it to their new polling place because of distance and obstructions from construction. BOE responded to the seniors’ plight by designating a room at 10 Clinton as a polling site, but only in time for the November election.

A BOE spokesperson told the Eagle that more polling sites would be moved closer to the neighborhood in time for the general election.

Assemblymember Jo Anne Simon (AD-52) told the Eagle last month that one of the problems in finding suitable polling places is the area’s overall lack of wheelchair accessible locations.

“In District 52, we had five to seven Electoral Districts that had to relocate because the schools were inaccessible,” she said.

If you need to find out where to go to vote in this primary, you can use the Board of Election’s online tool at

Also, you can plug your Zip code in at the Voter’s Edge website and find out about everyone on your ballot:

Appearing on Brooklyn ballots will be candidates for the New York State Senate and Assembly, district leaders and judicial positions. Here are the major races.

Senate races

In New York State Senate District 18, Democrats Debbie Medina and Martin Malave Dilan face each other.

In District 19, Democrats Mercedes Narcisse and Roxanne J. Persaud square off.

Democrat Michael G. Cox is up against Velmanette Montgomery in District 25. (Incumbent Daniel Squadron is unopposed in District 26.)

Assembly races

A number of Assembly seats are up for grabs. These include:

District 42 — Democratic Party: Victor A. Jordan; Rodneyse Bichotte

District 42 — Republican Party: Matthew Williams, unopposed

District 44 — Democratic Party: Robert C. Carroll; R. M. Curry-Smithson; Troy Odendhal

District 44 — Republican Party: Glenn Nocera

District 46 — Reform Party: No candidate has filed, so voters can write in their choice.

District 46 — Democratic Party: Pamela Harris; Katie A. Cucco

District 46 — Conservative Party: Mikhail Usher or write in

District 48 — Republican Party: No candidate has filed, so voters may write in their choice.

District 50 — Democratic Party: Joseph Lentol runs unopposed

District 51 — Democratic Party: Félix W. Ortiz, unopposed

District 51 — Republican Party: Henry Lallave

District 52 — Democratic Party: Jo Anne Simon, unopposed

District 52 — Republican Party: Daniel Ramos, unopposed

District 53 — Democratic Party: Maritza Davila runs unopposed

District 54 — Democratic Party: Erik M. Dilan, unopposed

District 54 — Republican Party: Khorshed Chowdhury, unopposed

District 55 — Democratic Party: Latrice M. Walker; Darlene Mealy

District 55 — Republican Party: Berneda Jackson, unopposed

District 56 — Democratic Party: Tremaine S. Wright; Karen Z. Cherry

District 57 — Democratic Party: Walter Mosley, unopposed

District 58 — Democratic Party: Nick Perry, unopposed

District 60 — Democratic Party: Charles Barron, unopposed

District 60 — Conservative Party: Ernest Johnson, unopposed

District 62 — Republican Party: Janine Materna; Ronald Castorina Jr.


For the position of New York City Civil Court Judge in the Third Municipal Court District, Democrat Edward Irizarry is facing Democrat Susan Quirk.

In the Fifth Municipal Court District: Rachel E. Freier; Jill Epstein; Morton M. Avigdor

In the Sixth Municipal Court District: Sabrina B. Kraus; Susan F. Avery

New York City Civil Court, countywide: Odessa Kennedy; Consuelo M. Melendez

Bay Ridge action

According to the Eagle’s Paula Katinas, the 46th Assembly District is “a hotbed of political activity.” Besides the three Democratic Party primaries taking place on Tuesday, there are primaries for both the male and female Democratic district leader posts in the 46th AD. (The district includes parts of Bay Ridge, Dyker Heights, Coney Island, Seagate and Brighton Beach.)

Mark Treyger and Chris McCreight are in a tight competition for Democratic district leader position there, Katinas said.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment