Brooklyn Boro

Columbian Lawyers Association celebrates 50th Annual Rapallo Award Luncheon

April 22, 2015 Brooklyn Daily Eagle
Hon. Miriam Cyrulnik and Arthur Aidala. Eagle photos by Mario Belluomo
Share this:

The Columbian Lawyers Association (CLA), First Judicial Department, honored Hon. John A. Barone at its 50th annual Rapallo Award Luncheon last Saturday at the Waldorf Astoria in Manhattan.

John E. Zuccotti, former first deputy mayor of New York City, presented Barone, a Bronx Supreme Court Justice, with the prestigious award.

“[Barone’s] great intellect, judicial skills and strong judgment are matched by his generosity and commitment to service,” Jonathan Lippman, chief judge of the New York State Court of Appeals, noted in prepared statement.

Subscribe to our newsletters

While the Manhattan/Bronx branch of the CLA held the event, Brooklyn’s legal community was out in force. Brooklyn-based attorney Arthur L. Aidala opened the ceremony with his law partner Marianne E. Bertuna, providing a welcome address to the esteemed guests in the audience.

The keynote speaker of the evening was former Brooklyn Judge Patricia M. DiMango, a 2012 Rapallo Award recipient. Other Brooklyn judges in attendance included Pamela Fisher, Bernard Graham, Jeffery Sunshine, Miriam Cyrulnik, John Ingram, Matthew D’Emic, David Vaughan, Lawrence Knipel, Carl Landincino, Michael Pesce, Mark Partnow, Kenneth Sherman, Joy Campanelli and Peter Sweeney.

The Rapallo award is named after Charles A. Rapallo, the first Italian-American judge elected to the New York State Court of Appeals in 1870. He served on the appellate bench until his death in 1887.

For more photos, please visit

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment