Brooklyn Boro

GET EXCITED: NYC paid sick leave begins on Wednesday

DCA Commissioner Menin Reminds Employers and Employees about Sick Leave Rights

July 29, 2014 From NYC Department of Corrections
Bill de Blasio's paid sick leave movement begins on Wednesday
Share this:

Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) Commissioner Julie Menin reminds employers and employees that Wednesday, July 30, covered employees can begin using accrued sick leave under the City’s paid sick leave law. The paid sick leave law, which went into effect April 1, 2014, covers most employees who work more than 80 hours a year in New York City. Under the law, employers with five or more employees who are hired to work more than 80 hours per calendar year in New York City must provide paid sick leave. Employers with fewer than five employees must provide unpaid sick leave.

“July 30th is truly a historic day in our city because more than a million workers no longer have to choose between their jobs and caring for themselves or a family member,” said DCA Commissioner Julie Menin. “Paid sick leave will lead to greater employee productivity and morale and lower health care costs. Not to mention that workers no longer have to worry about losing their job if they need to stay home sick with the flu or about losing a paycheck to care for a loved one who’s sick. Employees will now be able to use the sick leave they’ve earned and we will continue to work to ensure employees know how to comply, and employees know their rights, to mediate complaints and, when necessary, issue violations.”

News for those who live, work and play in Brooklyn and beyond

Employees accrue one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours of sick leave per calendar year. Accrual began April 1, or on an employee’s first day of employment, whichever came later and employees can begin using accrued leave 120 days after they began accruing leave. On the first day of employment, employers must provide the Notice of Employee Rights in English and, if available on the DCA website, their primary language. Domestic workers who have worked for their employer for more than one year must be provided two days of paid sick leave, which is in addition to the three days of paid rest under the New York State Labor Law.  

Employers and employees can visit or call 311 (212-NEW-YORK outside NYC) for more information, including upcoming events and webinars, the required Notice of Employee Rights, one-page overviews for employers and employeesFAQs, DCA’s paid sick leave training presentation in multiple languages, the complaint form, and legal interpretations. New Yorkers can also follow DCA on TwitterFacebookYouTube and Instagram using the hashtag #paidsickleave, and employers can ask questions online on DCA’s Live Chat for Business platform Monday – Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment