New leadership for CB 10

July 11, 2013 Heather Chin
Share this:

The June general meeting of Community Board 10 was a graduation of sorts for several board members, including Chairperson Joanne Seminara, who stepped down from the position after three and a half years.

Seminara, who has been a member of CB 10 since 1993, will remain an active part of the community in her roles as female district leader of the 60th Assembly District and as a lawyer with Grimaldi & Yeung LLP. The chairperson seat will be filled by longtime CB 10 member Brian Kieran.

Due to term limits (officers cannot serve more than three consecutive terms in the same post according to the board’s bylaws), all of the officer positions were replaced.

The position of treasurer went to Greg Ahl, a former Environmental Committee chair, who won the position with a vote of 24 to 14 over Fran Vella-Marrone, who has served as committee chair for the Police and Public Safety Committee. Ahl replaces Mary Ann Walsh in the role.

The race for vice-chair started out between veteran member Doris Cruz, who has headed up the Traffic & Transportation Committee, and Environmental Committee Chair Bob HuDock until HuDock withdrew from the race in order to focus on committee work. Cruz will take over from Kieran.

Ron Gross replaces Eleanor Schiano in the position of secretary.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment