Celebrate Brooklyn! in Brooklyn Bridge Park dance parties and Prospect Park concerts

May 9, 2013 Heather Chin
Share this:

Tonight marks the start of Celebrate Brooklyn! dance parties in Brooklyn Bridge Park, with the first showcase being a New Orleans Dance Party that features Big Sam’s Funky Nation & The Freedom Party NYC.

The fun starts at 7 p.m. every Thursday on Pier 1 in Brooklyn Bridge Park — a giant green space filled with food concessions, rent-a-bikes, boat launches and more, accessible via East River Ferry or subway. Celebrate Brooklyn! dance parties run from Thursday, May 9 through Thursday, May 23 and are part of a performing arts program of BRIC Arts | Media | Bklyn.

  • Thursday, May 9 — New Orleans Dance Party feat. Big Sam’s Funky Nation & The Freedom Party NYC
  • Thursday, May 16 — Afro-Cuban Dance Party feat. Pedrito Martinez & DJ Nickodemus
  • Thursday, May 23 — Old School Funk and Hip-Hop Dance Party feat. Zapp Band & D-Nice

All of the dance parties include some dance lessons for the uninitiated or the shake-happy. So that makes for three Thursdays of getting your groove on before parking your butt in the grass in July for the return of SyFy Movies With A View.

However, the dance parties are just the appetizer to Prospect Park’s main summer course of concerts at the Prospect Park Bandshell, which run from June 5 through August 10 at various times during the day.

DAILY TOP BROOKLYN NEWS
News for those who live, work and play in Brooklyn and beyond

Concert prices vary, but most are free with a $3 suggested donation.

  • Wednesday, June 5 — 8:15 p.m. — Opening night concert with Patty Griffin 
  • Saturday, June 8 — 4 p.m. — Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra (for kids) with Wynton Marsalis
  • Thursday, June 13 — 7:30 p.m. — Grouplove / Alpine
  • Friday, June 14 — 7:30 p.m. – Mavis Staples / Cody ChesnuTT
  • Saturday, June 15 — 7 p.m. — Calexico / Susana Baca / Radio Jarocho & Akoko Nante Ensemble 
  • Tuesday, June 18 — 7 p.m. — BENEFIT CONCERT: The Roots & Jim James 
  • Thursday, June 20 — 7:30 p.m. – Big Boi / Phony Ppl / D-Nice 
  • Friday, June 21 — 7:30 p.m. — Amadou & Mariam / Bombino
  • Thursday, June 27 — 8 p.m. — Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo 
  • Friday, June 28 — 7:30 p.m. — Ladysmith Black Mambazo / Aurelio Martinez 
  • Saturday, June 29 — 7 p.m. — Os Mutantes / Javelin / Janka Nabay & The Bubu Gang 
  • Saturday, July 6 — 7 p.m. — Theophilius London / Les Nubians / Aabaraki
  • Thursday, July 11 — 7 p.m. — BENEFIT CONCERT: Belle and Sebastian 
  • Friday, July 12 — 7 p.m. — Nortec Collective Presents: Bostich & Fussible / Mexican Institute of Sound / Mariachi Flor de Toloache 
  • Saturday, July 13 — 7:30 p.m. — Dracula with the Philip Glass Ensemble / Kishi Bashi
  • Thursday, July 18 — 7:30 p.m. — The Tiger Lillies: Rime of the Ancient Mariner / Cynthia Hopkins 
  • Friday, July 19 — 7:30 p.m. — The Waterboys / Alasdair Roberts 
  • Saturday, July 20 — 7 p.m. — The Lone Bellow / The Low Anthem / Joe Purdy 
  • Thursday, July 25 — 7:30 p.m. — BeBe Winans / Alicia Olatuja
  • Friday, July 26 — 7 p.m. — Trampled by Turtles / The Devil Makes Three / Brown Bird 
  • Saturday, July 27 — 7 p.m. — BENEFIT CONCERT: Robert Plant presents The Sensational Space Shifters 
  • Tuesday, July 30 — 6:30 p.m. — BENEFIT CONCERT: Barenaked Ladies / Ben Folds Five / Guster 
  • Thursday, August 1 — 8 p.m. — Les Ballets Jazz de Montreal 
  • Friday, August 2 — 7:30 p.m. — Jamie Lidell / Dan Deacon / The Stepkids 
  • Saturday, August 3 — 7:30 p.m. — Eddie Palmieri Salsa Orchestra / Banda Magda
  • Sunday, August 4 — 7 p.m. — BENEFIT CONCERT: Beck 
  • Thursday, August 8 — 8 p.m. — Live score to “Beasts of the Southern Wild” by Dan Romer, Benh Zeitlin, & The Wordless Music Orchestra / Slavic Soul Party 
  • Friday, August 9 — 7:30 p.m. — Shaggy / TK Wonder 
  • Saturday, August 10 — 7:30 p.m. — They Might Be Giants / Moon Hooch  

 


Leave a Comment


Leave a Comment