Brooklyn’s New Bar Leaders Announced

April 12, 2012 Brooklyn Eagle Staff
Share this:

Brooklyn Bar and Brooklyn Women’s Bar Name New Presidents

REMSEN STREET — Domenick Napoletano, chair of the 2012 Nominating Committee for the Brooklyn Bar Association, has announced the following slate of officers and trustees for 2012-2013.


President – Domenick Napoletano

President-Elect – Andrew M. Fallek

First Vice President – Rebecca Woodland

Second Vice President – Arthur L. Aidala  

Secretary – Hon. Frank R. SeddioAndrew Fallek

Treasurer – Aimee L. Richter


Joseph R. Costello

TRUSTEES CLASS OF 2013 – Richard Klass

Pursuant to the Brooklyn Bar Association’s bylaws, the elections will take place on Wednesday, May 9, from 3:30-5:30 p.m. at the Association Meeting Hall at 123 Remsen St. in Brooklyn Heights.


Frank V. Carone

Fidel F. Del Valle

Lara Genovesi

Richard S. Goldberg

Jaime Lathrop

Anthony W. Vaughn, Jr.

Glenn Verchick

Hon. Sylvia Hinds-RadixKings County Administrative Judge Sylvia Hinds-Radix to Take BWBA Helm

REMSEN STREET — This week the Nominations Committee of the Brooklyn Women’s Bar Association released its report containing the proposed slate of officers and board members for 2012-2013.

Voting on the proposed slate will take place at a meeting of the general membership on May 8 at 5:30 p.m. at the Brooklyn Bar Association Meeting Hall at 123 Remsen St. in Brooklyn Heights.

Any 10 voting members of the Brooklyn Women’s Bar Association (BWBA) may, in writing and delivered to the corresponding secretary of the association by April 24, propose candidates fHolly Peckor any or all of the offices to be voted upon at the annual election.

Lisa Schreibersdorf, the current BWBA president and chairperson of the 2012 BWBA Nominating Committee, has submitted for approval the following persons for officers and board members:


President – Hon. Sylvia Hinds-Radix

President-Elect – Holly E. Peck

Vice President – Sue Novick Wasko

Vice President – John Coffey

Vice President – Hon. Ellen Spodek

Corresponding Secretary – Hon. Marsha Steinhardt

Recording Secretary – Jeannie Costello

Treasurer – Joy Thompson


Hon. Genine Edwards, Hon. Sylvia Ash,

Hon. Joanne Quinones, Sara Gozo, Pamela Elisofon, Barbara Grcevic, Hon. Lisa Ottley, Hon. Margaret Chan, Lillian Wan, Helene Blank, BB Liu, Natoya McGhie, Derafim Neckles, Joanne Minsky Cohen, Carrie Anne Cavallo


Elaine Avery, Theresa Ciccotto, Hon. Deborah Kaplan, Hon. Nancy Bannon

The members of the Nominating Committee were Elaine N. Avery, Hon. Nancy Bannon, Meredith Lusthaus, Barbara Grcevic and Lisa Schreibersdorf.

In regard to the umbrella organization, the Women’s Bar Association of the State of New York (WBASNY), the association’s president-elect, Maureen Maney, will automatically succeed to the position of president on June 1.

The WBASNY Nominations Committee, consisting of representatives of every chapter, including the BWBA, has nominated the following slate (with chapter affiliation noted) for the remaining officer positions for the 2012-2013 term:


Donna E. Frosco (Westchester)

Vice President

Andrea F. Composto (Brooklyn)

Vice President

Irene V. Villacci (Nassau)

Vice President

Jacqueline P. Flug (Bronx)


Maureen Crush (Orange-Sullivan)

Corresponding Secretary

Amy Baldwin Litman (Rockland)

Recording Secretary

Annette Hasapidis (Westchester)

The WBASNY bylaws provide that members comprising at least five percent of WBASNY’s voting membership as of Dec. 31 and representing at least one-third of the chapters, may propose in writing candidates for any of the WBASNY offices. Such writing must be sent to Recording Secretary Jacqueline Flug (by email to [email protected], fax to (212) 676-0089, or regular mail c/o WBASNY, P.O. Box 936, Planetarium Station, New York, NY 10024-0546) by March 31, which date has passed

On Jan. 28, the WBASNY Board of Directors, consisting of representatives from every chapter, voted unanimously in favor of amending Article XXVII of the WBASNY By-Laws addressing indemnification. The full text of the bylaws changes can be seen on the WBASNY website at

WBASNY bylaws changes must be approved by the membership of each WBASNY chapter. This change will be on the agenda at the WBASNY Annual Membership Meeting on May 8.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment