Miss Norway Contest Winner Displays Beauty, Poise

April 5, 2012 Brooklyn Eagle Staff
Share this:

Bay Ridge — Who needs Miss America? Bay Ridge has its own tradition of honoring beautiful and intelligent young women!

Lovely Amanda Berntsen was crowned Miss Norway of Greater New York 2012 on Saturday and will be a V.I.P. at the annual 17th of May Parade next month.

She was the winner of the 57th Annual Miss Norway of Greater New York Contest, held at the Norwegian Christian Home and Health Center at 1250 67th St. The panel of judges chose Amanda the best out of a field of 16 contestants. The women were judged not only on their beauty but on their knowledge of Norway and its history.

News for those who live, work and play in Brooklyn and beyond

In order to be eligible for the crown, the contestants have to be of Norwegian descent.

Master of Ceremonies Rolf Stang (left) greets the contestants: Ashly Andreassen, Amanda Bernsten, Katie Blaine, Mia Carroll, Eryka Eikeseth, Brooke Ferenczy, Taylor Filippini, Lindsay Hansen, Britt Henricksen, Kiersten Lauen, Erika Lawson, Brandi Lindoe, Brandi Michaels, Freia Titland, Kristen Ward and Camille White (left to right).

The panel of judges included: Joyce Abrahamsen, Lena Barnes, Steve Danna, state Sen. Marty Golden, and Ingeborg Vidringstad.

In addition to Amanda, the contestants vying for the title of Miss Norway were: Ashly Andreassen, Katie Blaine, Mia Carroll, Eryka Eikeseth, Brooke Ferenczy, Taylor Filippini, Lindsay Hansen, Britt Henricksen, Kiersten Lauen, Erica Lawson, Brandi Lindoe, Brooke Michaels, Freia Titland, Kristen Ward, and Camilla White.

Rolf Kristian Stang served as master of ceremonies, introducing each of the contestants. Arlene Bakke Rutuelo is the chairman of the Miss Norway Committee.

The event also featured a parade of tiny beauties, known as the Little Miss Norways, who were escorted by junior cadets.

The Miss Norway Contest is one of the grand traditions of Bay Ridge and takes place a few weeks before another great community tradition — the 17th of May Parade.

Seated (left to right) are contest judge Steve Danna of Den Norske Bank; Event Co-Chair Lynn Anderson, state Sen. Marty Golden and contest judge Lena Barnes. Standing (left to right) are Dee Rutuelo, contest judge Ingebord Vidringstad, Event Co-Chair Arlene Rutuelo, Master of Ceremonies Rolf Kristian Stang, and contest judge Joyce Abrahamsen. 	Eagle photos by Georgine Benvenuto

The parade, which marks the adoption of the Norwegian Constitution, takes place each year on the Sunday closest to May 17.

This year’s parade will be held on Sunday, May 20, on Third Avenue.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment